Professional · Thoughts

Diversity in The Workplace

angioThis summer I had the pleasure of interning at an awesome medical device company in Latham, New York. Pictured to the right are two of the other interns that I worked with. I would consider us a diverse group. Throughout my time I noticed the company’s employees and its leaders. There are people of all races and women but very few women at the top of the chain. It is a known fact that women have to work so much harder to get to the top but I also feel that men need to put more faith into women. This makes me think a lot about Sheryl Sandberg and how Mark Zuckerberg chose her for the position of COO instead of a man. Zuckerberg is a champion for diversity and people need to follow his ways.

As a mixed ethnic female I know that there are potential challenges in my future. However, I refuse to look at gender or race as a reason that anyone cannot succeed. I am a firm believer that if you work hard it will pay off in the end no matter how long it takes. We as a society need to speak for those who cannot or will not speak for themselves, whether that means encouraging a woman to “sit at the table” or discussing that there is a need for handicapped bathrooms or a parking spot for expecting mothers.

Personally I think I am supportive of diversity – considering my background but I know there is more that I can do. One way that I can show my support and further it is by educating myself on everyone by attending workshops, taking pledges, and overall being accepting. At the end of the day we are all different no one person should feel more different than the next.

Leave a Reply

